Physics space shooter Orbit Luna for iOS now with online multiplayer

in Games (F)

[] Heidelberg, Germany - Indie developer Cynthia Bandara introduces Orbit Luna 1.0.3 for iOS. Orbit Luna has been developed as a space shooter with physically accurate simulation of gravitational mechanics. The player finds himself in a space capsule that can be accelerated by careful thrusts of its rocket engine. The player is introduced to the game with a navigation exercise, upon which an orbit insertion mission is to be completed.

A unique feature of Orbit Luna is the ability to shoot missiles in accurately simulated trajectories. In total, five campaign missions and three bonus missions make up a complete story in which the player protects mankind from asteroids or encounters with alien spacecraft. The artificial intelligence employed for opponent ships is a game-specific technique based on non-linear model optimal control, and is perceived as difficult to deal with by many players.

Beyond shootouts with missiles and non-intuitive maneuvers in a gravity well, the game features mechanics for docking to other capsules in rescue missions. In addition to the campaign mode with eight missions in total, the game features an arcade-style survival mode in which orbital dogfights with a never-ending wave of opponents are simulated.

Orbit Luna received an update to version 1.0.3 featuring Retina graphics and online multiplayer combats on March 5th. The developers are inviting everybody to join the orbital online fight with a special kick-off event on March 10th at 10:00 AM, PST (San Francisco time), 1:00 PM, EST (New York time), 7:00 PM GMT (Frankfurt time), or 10:00 PM (Moscow time).

Device Requirements:
* iOS 4.2 or later
* iPhone, iPod touch and iPad
* 5.6 MB

Pricing and Availability:
Orbit Luna 1.0.3 is free and available worldwide exclusively through the App Store in the Games category.

Located in Heidelberg, Germany, Indie developer Cynthia Bandara developes apps for iOS. Orbit Luna is a project exclusively developed by students in a globally distributed team. Copyright (C) 2012 Cynthia Bandara. All Rights Reserved. Apple, the Apple logo, iPhone, iPod and iPad are registered trademarks of Apple Inc. in the U.S. and/or other countries.


Print this page | PDF | TXT | Read other releases by this member.