Judges Chosen for Flashforward Film Festival: Nominate Best Flash Work

in Seminars and Events (E)

[prMac.com] San Francisco, California - The Flashforward Conference and Film Festival today announced the Judges Panel for the 18th Flashforward Film Festival taking place August 21st during the Flashforward Conference and Film Festival in San Francisco, California. Judges will determine four finalists and one winning entry in each of ten categories.

Winning work is announced at the Flashforward Film Festival when Big Orange Rubber Arrows are bestowed upon the winners. The Flashforward Judging Panel includes: Aral Balkan, Pete Barr-Watson, Simon Conlin, Brendan Dawes, Chris Georgenes, Todd Sanders, Samuel Wan, and for the very first time Lynda Weinman.

Flashforward Film Festival judges review work online for all ten festival categories - Application, Cartoon/Story/Narrative, Code, Experimental/Art, Game, Motion Graphics, Navigation/Experience, Sound, Typography, and Video - pinpointing the top four entries in each category. Festival nominations are judged in two rounds, by two separate panels of judges, although not all judges vote on all categories ensuring that both the widest possible aesthetic and opinion are represented.

This judging format also ensures that no one sensibility drives the finalists or winners. And this format maintains both honesty and integrity within the judging process. Judges are required to withdraw from reviewing and judging categories in which their own work has been nominated.

"Nothing says 'you've made it in the Flash world' quite like that Big Orange Rubber Arrow," said Aral Balkan, Web Developer, Singularity Web Conference. "It's the Oscar statuette for Flash."

Nominations are open until June 16th, 2008 for all ten categories. Work submitted must be created predominately in Flash, and be available on the Web to any visitor with a current Flash Player. Work can be nominated in a maximum of three qualifying categories but can only be a finalist in one category per festival. Judges determine the category which best represents nominated work.

To nominate work submit a URL directly to the piece to be judged or describe on the nomination form how to find it. There is no entry fee associated with the Flashforward Film Festival. Any and all work created using Flash can be nominated at their website.

Flashforward is the longest-running and largest Adobe(R) Flash(TM) user conference in the world. Flashforward2008 San Francisco, entering its ninth year, is a three-day event filled with sessions led by the world's leading Flash professionals, offering education, best practices, and inspirational case studies in Flash, Flex, ActionScript, and AIR. Flashforward2008 San Francisco, developed and produced by Beau Ambur, in cooperation with the team at Metaliq, includes the international Flashforward Film Festival and Awards ceremony and a Flash-related industry Expo Hall and community center with opportunities for the entire Flash community to network and share knowledge. August 20-22, 2008 Nob Hill Masonic Center, San Francisco. For more information visit their website. Flashforward2008 San Francisco is supported by Metaliq.